BENJAMIN DALLE

CONTACTEER

Kabinet Benjamin Dalle

Vlaams minister Brussel, Jeugd en Media

kabinet.dalle@vlaanderen.be

Koolstraat 35
1000 Brussel 

PERS 

 

Tom Demeyer

Woordvoerder 

+32 472 84 15 99

tom.demeyer@vlaanderen.be

 

ABOUT BENJAMIN

From West-Flemish countryside to Ghent and Paris

Benjamin grew up in the little town of Damme, near Bruges. Beside living many adventures in the green around the “Damse Vaart” (Canal) and in the meadows of his grandfather “farmer Jan” Dalle, he was also an eager pupil at the local primary school of Damme and later at the Saint Louis Grammar School in Bruges. His growing engagement made him join the Presidium (social division).

 As a student of Law in digs in Ghent, Benjamin spent ample time endlessly discussing– of course – political issues at the pub. He spent his last academic year as an Erasmus student in Paris, at the René Descartes University (Paris V). There he was awarded the “Prix Erasmus” for best foreign student at the law faculty of Paris V.

 

Benjamin graduated in 2005 summa cum laude. He was awarded the prizes of best law student of the University of Ghent by the alumni society Gandaius and of best master’s thesis by the Appeals Court of Ghent.

New York and Geneva

After Ghent and Paris, Benjamin wished to make his American dream come true.  Through different scholarships (BAEF, Fulbright, Hugo Grotius scholarship) he was able to study at NYU (New York University) School of Law for a year, one of the most prestigious centres of international law. He focused mainly on (international) public law, human rights and environmental law. In New York he obtained his “LL.M. in International Legal Studies” , topped by the Jerome Lipper Prize for excellence in the LL.M. programme. 

 After his passage in the US, Benjamin went to Switzerland for another three months, to complete an internship at the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) in Geneva. He worked for the human rights liaison that maintains relations between the UNHCR and the different human rights institutions of the United Nations.

First steps in Brussels – Bar and university 

Once back in Belgium, Benjamin swapped the West-Flemish flatland for Brussels, first in Etterbeek, later on in Sint-Jans-Molenbeek. He started as an attorney at an international law firm and became an academic assistant at the Catholic University of Leuven with Judge and Professor André Alen. He was an assistant until 2009 and is still connected to the Institute for Constitutional Law of the KULeuven University as a volunteering researcher. He had been an active member of the Bar, but he retired from legal office in 2011. 

Political engagement in federal administrations and the study service

By the end of 2007 Benjamin was employed by Yves Leterme to collaborate on the state reform, marking the start of his (party) political activity. He worked for three consecutive vice-premiers of CD&V and advised them on state reform, legal matters and asylum and migration. His most intense periods were in 2010, as closest assistant to Jean-Luc Dehaene in his missions to find a solution for BHV, and in 2011, when he worked in the back office of Wouter Beke during the formation period. By the end of 2011 he had become the head of staff to the secretary of state for State Reform, Buildingsagency and Sustainable Development, Servais Verherstraeten, where he worked on the implementation of the Sixth State Reform. After the elections of 2014, Benjamin participated in the negotiations on the government formation of the federal coalition. He became deputy chief of staff to the minister of Justice, Koen Geens. Since March 2016 he is the director of Ceder, the study service of CD&V. In January 2019 he was appointed as a senator.

Commitment for Brussels

Also Brussels and Brussels politics are very dear to Benjamin. He is actively involved in Molenbeek and CD&V – Capital Division Brussels, which he presided from 2015 to 2018. Benjamin is also active in the Brussels community life, among others as a member of the board of the Centre for General Welfare (CAW) Brussels, in Flagey and Trias.

 On 25 May 2014 he ran for election for the first time. He headed the Brussels list for the elections of the Chamber of Representatives, but as expected no Flemish representative was elected. With the municipal elections of 14 October 2018, he was part of the bilingual list cdH-CD&V+ in Molenbeek. After a close battle, he was not elected. On 26 May he will head the CD&V list of Brussels for the Flemish Parliament. 

Personal

Benjamin is married to Maïté and has three kids. With his family he lives in the maritime quarter in Molenbeek. He regularly needs a good deal of sports, on his bike through the Brussels countryside or the Flemish Ardennes; or by running the yearly 20 km through Brussels; or on the squash court. He enjoys his city garden and flower pots on the window sills. He will not say no to a cold Duvel with his friends at the pub. And travelling from time to time, closby or far away, is what gives him his oxygen.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

BENJAMIN DALLE

CONTACTEER

Kabinet Benjamin Dalle

Vlaams minister Brussel, Jeugd en Media

kabinet.dalle@vlaanderen.be

Koolstraat 35
1000 Brussel 

PERS 

 

Tom Demeyer

Woordvoerder 

+32 472 84 15 99

tom.demeyer@vlaanderen.be

 

benjamin

De la campagne de la Flandre occidentale à Gand et à Paris 

Benjamin a grandi dans la petite ville de Damme, pas loin de Bruges. Outre les nombreuses escapades aux bords verts du canal de Damme et dans les champs de son grand-père ‘boer Jan’ Dalle, il était également un élève studieux à la petite école primaire locale et plus tard au Sint-Lodewijkscollege à Bruges. Son enthousiasme jaillissant l’y amène au Présidium, dans le groupe de travail social. 

Après ses secondaires il quitte la ville de Damme pour Gand où il entame ses études en droit. Le fait qu’il y était en kot lui permettait entre autres de passer pas mal de temps au bistrot, bien évidemment toujours dans le seul et unique but d’y discuter interminablement de politique. Dans le cadre du projet Erasmus il passe sa dernière année académique à Paris, à l’université René Descartes (Paris V). Il y obtient le “Prix Erasmus”, prix attribué au meilleur étudiant étranger, de la faculté de droit de Paris V. En 2005, Benjamin termine ses études avec la plus grande distinction.

 

A l’université de Gand il obtient le prix du meilleur étudiant en droit  attribué par l’association alumni Gandaius ainsi que le prix pour le meilleur mémoire de la Cour d’Appel de Gand.

New York et Genève

 

Après Gand et Paris Benjamin a voulu réaliser son rêve américain. Grâce à différentes bourses (BAEF, Fulbright, Hugo Grotius), l’opportunité lui est donnée de continuer ses études à l’université newyorkaise NYU (New York University) School of Law, un des centres les plus éminents en matière de droit international. Il s’y consacre surtout à l’étude du droit public, des droits de l’homme et du droit de l’environnement. Ainsi il obtient le diplôme “LL.M. in International Legal Studies” avec en plus le Jerome Lipper Prize, un prix qu’il obtient pour son mérite dans le programme LL.M.

 

Après son séjour aux Etats-Unis Benjamin passe trois mois en Suisse pour y faire un stage auprès du Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les refugiés (UNHCR) à Genève. Il y travaille entre autres pour le “human rights liaison” qui met le lien entre le Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés et les différentes institutions pour les droits de l’homme des Nations Unies.

Premiers pas à Bruxelles – le barreau et l’université 

De retour en Belgique, Benjamin échange les polders de la Flandre occidentale pour Bruxelles, d’abord pour Etterbeek, ensuite pour Molenbeek-Saint-Jean. Il débute en tant qu’avocat auprès d’un bureau d’avocats international et devient assistant à l’Université Catholique de Louvain (KULeuven), auprès du juge et professeur de faculté André Alen. Il reste assistant jusqu’en 2009 et aujourd’hui encore il est toujours lié à l’Institut de Droit constitutionnel du KULeuven en tant que collaborateur scientifique volontaire. Il passe cinq ans au barreau mais décide finalement en 2011 de quitter le barreau. 

Engagement politique au sein des cabinets fédéraux et le service d’études

Fin 2007 Yves Leterme demande à Benjamin de le joindre afin de collaborer à la réforme de l’Etat. Ceci fut le début de l’engagement politique (au parti) de Benjamin. Il travaille ensuite pour trois vice-premiers-ministres successifs du CD&V en tant que conseiller en matière des réformes de l’Etat, des questions juridiques, d’asile et de migration. Les périodes les plus intensives sont celles vécues en 2010, en tant que collaborateur proche de Jean-Luc Dehaene lors de sa mission de résoudre le problème de BHV et en 2011 en assistant par le back office le président du parti Wouter Beke lors de la formation du gouvernement. Fin 2011 Benjamin devient chef de cabinet du Secrétaire d’Etat aux Réformes institutionnelles, à la Régie des Bâtiments et au Développement durable, Servais Verherstraeten. Il y travaillait surtout sur l’exécution de la sixième réforme de l’Etat. Après les élections de 2014, Benjamin travaillait derrière les écrans de la formation du gouvernement fédéral. Ensuite il était chef de cabinet – adjoint du ministre de la Justice, Koen Geens. Depuis mars 2016, il est le directeur de Ceder, le service d’études du CD&V. En janvier 2019 il état coopté comme sénateur. 

Engagement pour Bruxelles

Bruxelles et la politique bruxelloise lui tiennent également fort à cœur. Benjamin est impliqué activement à Molenbeek et dans le conseil administratif du CD&V – Département Bruxelles capitale, qu’il a présidé entre 2015 et 2018. Benjamin est également actif dans la vie associative de Bruxelles, et ce entre autres en tant qu’administrateur du centre d’Action social globale de Bruxelles (Centrum Algemeen Welzijnswerk (CAW) Brussel), à Flagey et Trias. 

 

Le 25 mai 2014, il participait pour la première fois aux élections. Il était tête de liste à Bruxelles pour les élections de la Chambre des Représentants. Aucun flamand n’était élu. Le 14 octobre 2018 il participait aux élections communales sur une liste bilingue cdH-CD&V+. Le 26 mai il serai tête de liste du CD&V pour le Parlement Flamand. 

Sur le plan personnel

Benjamin est marié avec Maïté et a trois fils. Ils habitent dans le quartier maritime de Molenbeek-Saint-Jean. Régulièrement, il a besoin d’une bonne dose de sport. Il monte alors sur son vélo de course pour traverser le Pajottenland ou les Ardennes flamandes. Il aime également courir et participe entre autres chaque année aux 20 kms de Bruxelles.  Il se défoule également en pratiquant le squash. En tant que petit-fils de fermier, Benjamin reste un homme de la nature; il aime son petit jardin de ville et ses bacs à fleurs sur l’appui de fenêtre. Un petit voyage de temps en temps, tout près ou lointain,  lui donne de l’oxygène. 

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Instagram Icon